What on earth made you think you could be a principal?

I spent some time reflecting on how to start this blog, and the most logical place I could think of was the beginning! I was a Family and Consumer Science teacher, both at the high school and middle school levels, successfully working with students across income and racial lines (by that I mean no one got stabbed with a knife or accidentally sewed their fingers to the fabric on the sewing machine). I worked with two principals, both of whom were less than effective, in my humble opinion. The first was quite mousy, hardly saw or heard from him in the two years he was there and the next was just the opposite. While I loved teaching, the birth of my second child was enough for me to leave and be a stay-at-home mom.
When my daughter was three years old, I decided to open a nursery school in my church. What an undertaking for a secondary teacher! I enlisted the help of a friend with a degree in Early Childhood Ed. We wrote the curriculum, got it approved by the state and we were off! I have to say, I learned more about how kids learn at that preschool!
After five years, I decided I really missed those secondary rascals, and returned to the public schools. My passion for effective teaching and learning, learned at the 3 and 4 year old level, had quite an impact on my teaching from there on out. (Who says secondary kids are too old for stickers?) I had a terrific principal and superintendent, who both encouraged me to go into administration. In three years I had both my Master’s in Educational Leadership and Principal’s Certification and took a job in a local urban/suburban district as a middle school assistant principal, and that’s where the stories begin.
What is your story? We’d love to hear it!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

